The S R Nathan Fellowship for the Study of Singapore

The late S R Nathan, Singapore’s sixth and longest serving President, dedicated his life to public service and the advancement of Singapore. To recognise Mr Nathan’s unique contributions, the Institute of Policy Studies (IPS) began the process of establishing the S R Nathan Fellowship for the Study of Singapore in late 2012, to advance research on public policy and governance issues. 

With generous support from individual and corporate donors, IPS raised around S$5.9 million (including matching grants from the government) in 2013 to endow the Fellowship.

1st S R Nathan Fellow:  Ho Kwon Ping (Academic Year 2014/15)
2nd S R Nathan Fellow: Bilahari Kausikan. (Academic Year 2015/16)
3rd S R Nathan Fellow:  Peter Ho. (Academic Year 2016/17)
4th S R Nathan Fellow:  Lim Siong Guan. (Academic Year 2017/18 First Semester)
5th S R Nathan Fellow:  Cheong Koon Hean (Academic Year 2017/18 Second Semester)
6th S R Nathan Fellow:  Tan Tai Yong (Academic Year 2018/19)

Scope and Field of Study

S R Nathan Fellows serve concurrently as Adjunct Professors at the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy of the National University of Singapore (NUS).  They advance the core mission of IPS by contributing to the research and analysis of public policy, building bridges between key thought leaders, and communicating the Institute’s work to a wider audience. Research topics pursued by S R Nathan Fellows are relevant to the Institute’s work in the following areas:

  • Politics and Governance

  • Economy and Business

  • Demography and Family

  • Society and Identity

  • Arts, Culture and Media

S R Nathan Fellows present their research findings and policy ideas to the public by delivering three to six lectures during the course of the academic year. The IPS-Nathan Lectures are delivered at NUS. They serve to enrich the vibrant intellectual and cultural life on campus, and seek to advance public understanding and discussion of issues of critical national interest.

The IPS-Nathan Lectures of each series are collected and published under the auspices of IPS.

For more information on the S R Nathan Fellowship for the Study of Singapore, please contact Ms Regine Tan at  decb64_aXBzLnNybmZAbnVzLmVkdS5zZw==_decb64 or 6601-5730.


Donors to the S R Nathan Fellowship for the Study of Singapore
Tote Board Fraser and Neave, Limited
Lee Foundation Keppel Care Foundation
Alan H J Chan Kwee Liong Keng
Far East Organization Resorts World Sentosa Pte Ltd
Singapore Telecommunications Limited Rolls-Royce plc
CapitaLand Limited Shaw Foundation
Ho Bee Foundation Pan-United Corporation Ltd
Singapore Press Holdings Foundation Limited Roche Singapore Pte Ltd
NTUC Fairprice Foundation Ltd Standard Chartered Bank
NTUC Income Insurance Co-operative Limited STMicroelectronics
Koh Boon Hwee Tan Ser Kiat
Hasetrale Holdings Pte Ltd Jimmy Tay
Tee Yih Jia Group Tecity Group
United Overseas Bank City Gas Pte Ltd (As Trustee)
Baxter International Inc. Janadas Devan
BNP Paribas, Singapore Branch Eu Yan Sang International Ltd
Tony Chew Fang Ai Lian
Timothy C M Chia KPMG
City Developments Limited Robert Lewis
Deloitte Singapore Lim Siong Guan
EnGro Corporation Limited Meiban Investment Pte Ltd
Hotel Properties Limited PwC Singapore
Kah Hong Pte. Limited SL Global Pte Ltd
MCL Land Limited Star Ready-Mix Pte Ltd
Mercatus Co-operative Limited Tat Hong Holdings Ltd
NTUC Choice Homes Co-operative Limited The Royal Bank of Scotland
NTUC Club CH2M Hill Singapore Pte Ltd
NTUC Foodfare Co-operative Limited JURONG International Holdings Pte Ltd
OUE Limited